Surveillance Studies Network 2023 Book Award

The Surveillance Studies Network (SSN) invites nominations (including self-nominations) for the annual Surveillance Studies Book Award. The award is given in recognition of an outstanding monograph on surveillance published during the preceding year. 

We are currently inviting nominations for 2023 (i.e., books with a ‘2022’ copyright date).

Single or multi-authored works are eligible, but not edited volumes. 

The winner will receive an award amount of £100 (to be split among authors if there is more than one), as well as a 1-year membership for the Surveillance Studies Network (SSN), which provides benefits including discounts on all SSN-sponsored conferences and events. The winner/s will be announced in late 2023 / early 2024.

Using the subject heading “SSN Book Award 2023,” please email the committee chair, Jonathan Finn ( to nominate a book. Please include the title of the book, year of publication, author, publishing house, and a paragraph of no more than 250 words detailing specifics about why this book would be suitable for the award.

All nominations must be received by 1st September 2023. 

Please do not send any books at this stage. The committee will solicit books directly once all nominations have been received. 

SSN Book Award Committee Members:

Dr. Jonathan Finn, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Canada

Dr. Özgün Topak, York University, Toronto, Canada

Dr. Fareed Ben-Youssef, Texas Tech University, United States

Dr. Minkyu Sung, UNIST, Korea

A list of previous winners can be found here.

SSN on Twitter

Surveillance & Society