Surveillance & Society Paper Prizes

The jury of Dean Wilson, Torin Monahan and David Murakami Wood have gone through the 4-year backlog of eligible entries for the S&S paper prize for early-career researchers.

Congratulations to the winners!

We are pleased to announce that the winners, from earliest to latest, are as follows:

Vol 8 (2010-11) – 1 winner:

Vol 9 (2011-12) – 3 winners:

  • David M Bozzini – Low-level Surveillance and the Despotic State in Eritrea
  • Alice Marwick – The Public Domain <>
  • Oliver Leistert – Resistance Against Cyber-Surveillance <>

Volume 10 (2012-13) – 1 winner:

Volume 11 (2013-14) – 3 winners:

*please note that in this case, David MW did not take part in consideration of this paper as the author is a PhD student in the same department.